Latest News

Pranab Mukherjee along with Bhupen Hazarika and Nanaji awarded the Bharat Ratna

The government of India announced the 3 personalities for Bharat Ratna. Two of them awarded posthumously, Dr Bhupen Hazarika, most popular for his song ‘Dil Hoom Hoom Kare’ was honoured with the Bharat Ratna award recently. He was awarded along with former President of India Pranab Mukherjee and Nanaji Deshmukh. Born in Assam on 8th September 1926, Hazarika died owing to a prolonged illness. Apart from ‘Dil Hoom Hoom’, Dr Bhupen is remembered for writing and giving vocals to the song ‘O Ganga Behti Ho Kyun’.

A journalist, poet and film-maker, Dr Bhupen Hazarika was often called the Bard of Brahmaputra (because he was a poet who came from the place where Brahmaputra river flows).

Former President of India Pranab Mukherjee-: He is amongst the 3 persons who have been awarded the Bharat Ratna this year, is a seasoned Indian politician who served as the 13 president of India from 2012 until 2017. In a political career spanning five decades, Mukherjee has been a senior leader in the Indian National Congress(INC) and has occupied several ministerial portfolios in the government of India. Before he was elected the President, he was Finance Minister from 2009 to 2012.

Nanaji Deshmukh-: Chandikadas Amritrao Deshmukh also known as Nanaji Deshmukh (11 October 1916 – 27 February 2010) was a social activist from India. He worked in the fields of education, health, and rural self-reliance. He was a leader of the Bharatiya Jan Sangh and also a member of an upper house the Rajya Sabha.


About the author

myeducationwire is dedicated to provide valuable news and educational update to its viewers. Our team is focused to see that you do not miss anything important. We cover the categories latest news,economy,sports,science and technology, career and courses,job alert


Leave a Comment