Bharat Ratna Award is the highest recognition

Bharat Ratna Award is the highest recognition

Bharat Ratna Award is the highest recognition-Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India, established on January 2, 1954, by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the country’s first President. The award is conferred in recognition of exceptional service or performance of the highest order in various fields.

The term Bharat Ratna translates to “Jewel of India” and is a symbol of the country’s highest honour and recognition. The award’s significance lies in its recognition of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of society and the nation.

Any person, regardless of their nationality, occupation, position, race, or sex, is eligible for the Bharat Ratna. However, the award is usually conferred on Indian-born citizens, and only three individuals receive the award each year. To be eligible for the award, the individual must have made exceptional and distinguished contributions in their respective fields. The award’s eligibility criteria are broad, recognizing individuals from diverse backgrounds and fields.

Bharat Ratna Award is the highest recognition

Table of Contents

After 12th Career Counselling
Telegram channel
Youtube Channel

 The Prime Minister recommends the name to the President of India.

Article 18(1) states that an individual cannot use this as a prefix or suffix (before or after the name). However, if an award winner considers it necessary he/she may use the expression in their bio-data/letterhead/visiting card etc to indicate that he/she is a recipient of the award as follows

Awarded Bharat Ratna by President or Recipient of Bharat Ratna Award

No formal recommendations for this are necessary. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.

Check JEE Main Session 2 application form

The Award does not carry any financial grant.

Over the years, the Bharat Ratna has been awarded to a select group of exceptional individuals who have made outstanding contributions in their respective fields. Notable recipients of the award include A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, Mother Teresa, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee, among others. In 2019, the award was conferred upon activist Nanaji Deshmukh, politician Pranab Mukherjee, and singer Bhupen Hazarika, posthumously. The first three recipients of the award were C. Rajagopalachari, CV Raman, and S. Radhakrishnan, all hailing from Tamil Nadu. The award’s recipients come from diverse backgrounds, including social activism, politics, and science, and their contributions have made a significant impact on Indian society and the world.

This year BJP veteran and former Dy PM Of India LK Advani will receive this award.

There is no formal law that recipients of the Bharat Ratna should be Indian citizens. It was awarded to a naturalised Indian citizen, Mother Teresa in 1980, and to two non-Indians, Abdul Ghaffar Khan of Pakistan in 1987 and the former South African president Nelson Mandela in 1990.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Update of UGC NET June 2024 जामिया की फ्री IAS कोचिंग में कौन ले सकता है एडमिशन? UP Board का 10th & 12th का रिजल्ट आज 20 अप्रैल 2024 को घोषित कर दिया है। Some Govt exams update 2024